This trail celebrates the vibrant Elwood Village and its surrounding landscapes of canal, lake, park and seashore. Once abundant in wildlife and wetlands, with a rocky headland that provided outstanding views over Nerm, or Hobson’s Bay, the area now known as Elwood was a rich source of food and a place for cultural gatherings for the Yalukut Weelam clan of the Boon Wurrung. Elwood was surveyed by Robert Hoddle in 1850 but it was the early waterways that shaped the suburb’s settlement and public spaces. The huge Elwood wetland was the major impediment to colonial development. Its draining from 1889 onwards initiated a residential boom. The Elwood canal remains as a unique seam of open space through the traditional country of the Boon Wurrung people. Superintendent Charles La Trobe named the suburb for the rebel Quaker poet Thomas Ellwood, thus inspiring the poetic theme for almost 30 streets. The shops established in Ormond Road as early as World War One are today the heart of an expanding and cosmopolitan seaside community. The popular Elwood Beach and bushland foreshore attracts local residents, sporting clubs and visitors from across wider Melbourne.
Developed by Meyer Eidelson.